Hope.

After the news about the attack in Nice, I’ve been seeing the “I see humans but no humanity” pictures floating around recently. So I wanted to take a moment to say that I don’t think this is the case. I understand where the feelings of helplessness and rage are coming from, but I still believe that there is plenty of humanity in this world.

Just a few nights ago I was at a vigil to support BLM and there in that small crowd I saw an abundance of humanity. And although this is something I wanted to show my support at, I almost didn’t go because I didn’t want my dad to be there. Those that know my dad know he’s the goofiest, kindest, most generous person and the only real damage he could ever do is possibly talk someone’s ear off. But he also matches the profile of men being targeted right now. But even though I was scared, we both showed up. He showed up to support me; I showed up to support him; and we were showing up to stand with all the other amazing people that came out.

At this time of need our community came together to rekindle, however small, a flame of hope that I know everyone, including myself, so desperately needed.

Just this past weekend The Bahamas Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Immigration warned its citizens to avoid traveling to the US. The statement they released urged especially young black males to exercise extreme caution.

This is the reality of the world we are living in. I don’t know the answer, but I did want to say thank you to everyone who came out to support. Thank you to the organizer, the sign makers, the protesters; the people who stood up on the side of good and righteousness. Thank you for being loud and brave.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Dear A… Love your post and your actions..Just a not for the blog. When I click to go to the blog itself, the text color is such a light gray that it is difficult to read. I don’t remember that it was a problem with the others I read on the site. Just a head’s up… hugs! GS- Sharon Riegie (Ra’ Jee) MaynardBreaking Women Free and Restoring them to Their Divine Mission is the purpose of my work.

    “When the forms of an old culture are dying, the new culture is created by a few people who are not afraid to be insecure.” ~ Rudolf Bahro

    Once you have mastered any skill, move on… Otherwise you will become extraordinaryly – ordinary.             360-682-2970 office              – connect on Facebook – My Website – Online courses – Sign up for my regular emails

    Like

Leave a Reply

