Skin: Holy Grail Products

I do not know if it was the stress finals, or the weather change of the new season, but for a few weeks my skin was freaking-the-F-out.  I am talking worse than it has ever been in all my years of adolescence.  Thankfully, these products pulled my skin out of the gutter and into refreshment.  If magic did exist, I would claim these products are it- bottled.  And what kind of person would I be if I didn’t share the magic?  Let’s get right into it.

IMG_8747

1. Tea Tree Oil

-This essential oil is coveted for being a natural way to heal acne- and the rave is spot on!  The use of tea tree oil started in Australia, but has migrated to shampoos, face washes, and treatments across the globe.  Personally, I love using the 100% oil for spot treatments ( just take some on a cotton ball or Q-tip and dab where needed).  But my love for this oil doesn’t stop there.  I sought out this cleanser specifically for the tea tree oil dilution, so that I could use it to wash my entire face daily.

IMG_8738_2

IMG_8746_2

2. Cream Scrub

-As gross as it is to admit, your skin builds up dead skin.  Everyone’s does.  This is why facial scrubs take up a great deal of space in most beauty regimes.  Buffing away dry and dead skin on your face will reveal fresh cells underneath, leaving you with healthier and brighter skin.  And exfoliating does not simply help with your immediate appearance.  As you exfoliate your skin, you’re stimulating blood flow and cell turnover which helps fight against aging.  I love the way my skin feels after I exfoliate, however I noticed that my skin didn’t react as well to the harsh, chunky scrubs.  That is why I opted for this cream scrub from Neutrogena.  Besides having minimal ingredients, I love how after a few minutes this gentle scrub turns into a creamy face wash.  It really is a great option for any skin type.

IMG_8743_2

IMG_8748_2

3. Mint Mask

Traditionally used for culinary purposes, mint is packed with inumerable benefits for your skin.  Actually, this herb is regularly found in cleansers, moisturizers, shampoos, conditioners, and other various products.  A mint scrub can help lighten dark spots or pimple scars; a mint paste can eradicate a blackhead infected area; the vitamin A in this herb helps to control oiliness.  Besides all these benefits, the warm aroma of this herb helps to calm nerves and senses, leaving you extremely relaxed.  I love this Queen Helene mask because it holds all these properties, in one product.  And best of all, you can find it ay your local drugstore for under $5!

IMG_8741

IMG_8750_2

4. Cocoa Butter

Unfortunately, we are not talking about a decadent chocolate dessert (this time!).  Cocoa butter has numerous benefits for your skin, which is how it found a spot in my Holy Grail Products list.  Simply put, cocoa butter comes from a cacoa bean which is found inside the massive pod that grows from the tree.  And, the vegetable fat that is released from the bean is actually what we know as cocoa butter.  Now that we know a little information, let’s talk about the benefits.  Since this butter has so many, I think it will be easier and more effective to simply list them.

-Because it is high in antioxidants, it helps reduce the look of aging

-It is also high in fatty acids, which deeply hydrates skin (if you’ve never experienced the intense moisture from cocoa butter, you’re missing out.  I suggest Palmers brand).

-This one hasn’t been formally proven, but numerous women have reported that regular use of cocoa butter has helped reduce stretch marks. Now like I said, this one is not a guarantee, but I figure it’s worth a try to heal those pesky stretch marks- am I right ladies?

-We already know about it’s amazing healing and moisturizing properties.  A cocoa butter chap stick.  Need I say more? Pucker up.

IMG_8745_2

IMG_8749

5. Beeswax Lip Balm

When blended into skin lotions, beeswax and cream becomes a protective barrier which is often seen in products like salves and lip balms.  The barrier provides protection against possible irritants, while still allowing the skin to breath, making it an ideal moisturizer for places like the lips or hands.  Products that contain beeswax are known for moisturizing, protecting, and healing.  For smooth lips, I recommend Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm- it has all those properties rolled into one small tube.

IMG_8739

That’s all for this post!

Hopefully you picked up a little information and some new tips; check back on Thursday’s for more!

IMG_8737_2

Xx, Alyssa R. Bain

Leave a comment