February 14th Outfit Inspiration

Happy Valentine’s Day lovers!  Don’t worry if you don’t have a valentine to cuddle this year, Pizza Hut is offering heart shaped pizzas- and really, what else do you need?

However, if you are dressing up for this sweet holiday, I’ve got you covered with three outfit ideas.  Valentine’s Day has a reputation for being romantic and sexy, so I first wanted to share some of my thoughts on this…

There is no need to be scared of ‘sexy’.  Sexy is an attitude, a way of carrying oneself.  It isn’t something that should be reserved for supermodels or red carpets.  It shouldn’t be shamed into a corner; it should be owned.

I think sexiness comes from confidence.  Owning all your decisions, knowing that they’re yours.  This can range anywhere from life choices to fashion choices…

That being said, here are the outfits I put together.

1. Everything about this outfit screams “big date” to me.  The red top and leather skirt combo is a bold choice, making you stand out.  The camel   coat and nude heels offer a refined and sophisticated elegance to this rather bold outfit.  I pulled it together with a multicolored choker, but choose your favorite necklace.

IMG_6473

2. This sweet and casual outfit is something I might be wearing this Valentine’s Day!  This dress is actually a silk slip I found at the thrift store for $2- score!  It’s playful silhouette creates curves and mystery in all the right places, without being tight and uncomfortable.  I decided to play down the flirtatiousness of this piece with my favorite Adidas and a light-wash denim jacket.

IMG_6476

3. Valentine’s Day does not have to be decked out in red and pink.  Actually, I would prefer that it’s not.  A bold red lip is enough to play up the theme of this holiday without looking juvenile.  My peplum jacket and skirt work together to create a dress-like silhouette, and the straps on my black heels add detail to this simple look. Overall this outfit is fierce, womanly, and powerful.

IMG_6477I hope you enjoyed this post. Check out my YouTube video for more outfit ideas!

IMG_6478

Sending extra love, Alyssa R. Bain.

Leave a Reply

